Connect with us


Super DIRT Week’s 50 Greatest Drivers

Some of the greatest drivers in motorsports history have competed at NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week. As we close in on the 50th anniversary of the event, we polled fans for their opinion on who are the 50 Greatest Drivers in the history of Super DIRT Week. Each week we’ll reveal another driver, in no particular order, leading up to the history-making 50th running of Super DIRT Week at Oswego Speedway Oct. 3-9, 2022.

The List:

WEEK 1 – BRETT HEARN: One of modified racing’s legends with more than 900 wins in his career, Hearn has won the Super DIRTcar Series Billy Whittaker Cars 200 six times and the DIRTcar 358-Modified main event six times, as well. Super DIRT Week solidified Hearn’s legacy as one of Modified racing’s most iconic drivers and will forever be associated with the event.


WEEK 2 – JACK JOHNSON: Dirt Modified icon, “Jumpin’” Jack Johnson, of Schenectady, NY, became the first New York driver to win the famed Super DIRT Week Big Block Modified race at the New York State Fairgrounds in 1979. Then, five years later, again behind the wheel of his famed #12A Modified, Johnson became the fourth driver in Super DIRT Week history to win the Big Block race twice.


WEEK 3 – JIMMY HORTON: A legend of dirt Modified racing and NAPA Super DIRT Week, Jimmy Horton, of Folsom, NJ, made his 45th consecutive Super DIRT Week start in 2021. Of those 45 starts, he won the prestigious Big Block Modified race in 1987 and 1994.


WEEK 4 – BILLY PAUCH: Billy Pauch is the king of speed at the former Syracuse “Moody Mile” having set the Sprint Car speed record around the mile track at 144.95 mph in 1994. He also won against the World of Outlaws the same year to get his second win during Super DIRT Week. His first came behind the wheel of a 358 Modified in 1987.


WEEK 5 – BOB McCREADIE: “Barefoot” Bob McCreadie is considered by some to be the “Mario Andretti of Super DIRT Week.” Like Andretti, a legend of open-wheel racing, who won the Indy 500 only once, McCreadie, a legend of dirt Modified racing, conquered the prestigious Big Block Modified race during Super DIRT Week just once in 1986.

He is also the father of World of Outlaws Late Model champion Tim McCreadie and rising Super DIRTcar Series star Jordan McCreadie.


WEEK 6 – ROCKY WARNER: While several drivers have won in various modifieds at NAPA Super DIRT Week, only one man can say he’s won the prestigious event in two completely different race cars. Rocky Warner, of Gloversville, NY, first won back-to-back Pro Stock Super DIRT Week championships in 2010 & 2011 before moving into a Sportsman Modified and continuing his winning ways. He won the DIRTcar Sportsman Super DIRT Week championship in 2012 and in 2015. He’s now looking to keep that impressive streak going with the DIRTcar 358 Modifieds and the Super DIRTcar Series Big Blocks.

More in News